Tooth-ACHE!! If you put childbirth no 1 on the pain scale of 1 to 10…… Toothache comes in at about 13….


This has got to be the worst kind of pain going, I mean if you put childbirth no 1 on the scale of 1 to 10……

Toothache comes in at about 13….  It’s got to be the worst pain ever, only closely followed behind by Earache…. And I’m not a wimp by any means ive had 8 kids with gas and air, stitches with no anaesthetic.. broken bones etc and nothing what i would consider overly painful by any means

I have been suffering and I MEAN suffering for the last three days…..

bit of background..


About 15 yrs ago my ex decided that he would punch me in the face, It cracked one of my back teeth…

The Dentist at the time decided that it was only a hairline crack and provided it didn’t change colour everything should be ok……

I was really sensitive to Hot & Cold and was told for years to use sensedine toothpaste but it still was really sensitive….

About a year ago it started to hurt so the dentist I now have decided to do a root canal……a week later  half of it broke and came out… and despite having a root canal which is supposed to kill the nerve it still hurt …

she then decided to cap it or crown it what ever you want to call it…. that was fine for about 5 months… then it came off which left me with the outer side of the tooth and some very sharp bits on gum level…  but no pain… so she decided to leave it at that and then put another crown on despite me asking her to now pull it……   ok I admit its my fault I never went back for the crown… hey no pain, no sensitivity no need to go… well that’s what I worked on the theory of anyway…

back to present time…

Friday night i got a little niggle but thought nothing of it…..

Saturday morning i got toothache…

just normal toothache  nothing unbearable but annoying……

by late Saturday night Sunday morning i was in excruciating pain. the kind of pain where death seems a good option,

the kind of pain where it’s not safe to be near you as you will rip anyone who slightly upsets you limb from limb……

I found some antibiotics Allan had not taken when he had an abscess…….

(don’t you just love it when people never take their medication and you have a stock in the cupboards…)

it’s certainly helped me out over the last month…

Anyways… I took Antibiotics, pain killers, anti inflammatory pills  and more pain killers….. I would of taken anything including arsenic if I thought it would of helped.

I was still in agony..

now the antibiotics say not to be taken with alcohol they will make you sick…..  more pain   I forgot about that rule..

so had a drink to try to numb it……..  a whole bottle of white wine later and still in pain…. it didn’t even make me sick to take my mind off it…

Sunday night was the worst..  I considered pulling it out myself… now where were the pliers…..

Allan decided to be very brave and hide them……

by brave i mean stupid enough to come within the exclusion zone and say I couldn’t use them for ripping said tooth the cause of pain from my mouth…

I’m still not sure whether to thank him or not….

I recon at the time it couldn’t of hurt any more than it did already and it might of hurt for a while but then the pain would be gone…

I try calling the dentist only to be told they can’t fit me in until next week Friday to be exact which meant i would of had toothache for a week.   tried the emergency dental line and they no longer operate they just work with local dentists now on a rota basis…

I tried Canterbury hospital at the suggestion of my sister in lawish… I lied and said i was staying with a friend in faversham (so i could be in the right health area) but they told me that my local dentaline rota dentist was within distance of me going home…..

then another friend suggested i try the island community hospital so i got hold of sheppey community hospital and they said they couldn’t do anything but would make me an urgent appointment at any dentist if i was willing to travel…

HELL YES I WOULD GO TO SCOTLAND if it meant it would be sorted…..

they told me they would call me back which they did…

I had an appointment at 3.45 at the dentist in milton….. what the hell…… that’s my dentist .. the ones that can’t fit me in until the end of next week……


I went  and when i asked how come they could get me in via the hospital but i couldn’t get an appointment i was told they have to keep a number of appointments free for hospital referrals… go figure that…

Anyhoo… In I trot she looks at it and says oh yes you have a huge abscess  (like tell me something i don’t know)

i cant do anything until its gone down i will give you some antibiotics at which point i told her i had been taking them for 2 days anyway…and was in agony…

do something now pull the fucker……

No she still wont pull it….

but she agreed to try to relieve the pressure from the abscess  so i get the jab.. which i never felt.. everything hurt all the time.

she then waited and when it had taken effect and i was finally out of pain…

hey i cant feel anything i love this.. can i take some syringes full home with me….

she then lanced the abscess and spent ages draining it…

sorry if TMIEEEWWWEEEEE!  her words were then oh that was infected…..

i bet it was really uncomfortable…..

just a tad i replied…

it seemed a better option than pinning her up against the wall by the neck and saying  YES IT BLOODY HURT…

It seemed like there was a never ending stream of puss pouring from my mouth so actually trying to have a conversation with this woman was a fate in itself……

Ive got an appointment to go again in two weeks when the abscess has gone and the gum has healed.. for her to assess the situation…. with any luck she will get whats left of the tooth and pull the dam thing out…..

thankfully now the pain is more a very sore gum pain but not toothache

I’m starting to become human again….

the kids are safe and can now take off the hard hats and ear defenders and Allan can take off his bullet proof vest….


For Now……..


8 thoughts on “Tooth-ACHE!! If you put childbirth no 1 on the pain scale of 1 to 10…… Toothache comes in at about 13….

  1. I’m dealing with a toothache right now and I’ll be calling my dentist in the morning, but when I told my husband that I have this toothache he says “yeah, I know what your mean – I have a sore neck”. WHAT!? ARGH! I may have punched a wall when I heard that one.

  2. I totally agree…sometimes I believe that childbirth was more bearable than a frickin’ rotting toothache or abscess….those suckers made me want to end it all. Isn’t that sad? A damn tooth.

  3. Had one this week, co-codamol in handfuls didnt touch it. Eventually at midnight, lanced with needle X2, squeezed, pain briefly EVEN WORSE – then BLISS, normal pain till antibiotics kicked in.

  4. Pingback: A toothache​ again! | Ramblings from a Strange Woman... I Am Not Your Average Housewife!! ©

  5. i so know whereth you speak – double abscess numbers 28 and 5. Hit it with 8x200mg ibuprofen, 4 grams paracetamol/apap and (i kid you not) 600mg oral morphine (habituated thru other disease) – like yourself, in between bouncing off the walls, I found no relief anywhere.
    weeks and two courses of antibiotics later its liveable-with, just. The bastards are coming out next week, thank christ….
    Good luck and i hope you feel better soon,
    Peace,
    Glen

  6. i so know whereth you speak – double abscess numbers 28 and 5. Hit it with 8x200mg ibuprofen, 4 grams paracetamol/apap and (i kid you not) 600mg oral morphine (habituated thru other disease) – like yourself, in between bouncing off the walls, I found no relief anywhere.
    weeks and two courses of antibiotics later its liveable-with, just. The bastards are coming out next week, thank christ….
    Good luck and i hope you feel better soon,
    Peace,
    Glen

Leave a Reply

