Happy Birthday to Me!!! I made it another year!!

Hmm, maybe I should have given this blog entry the title “Boo, hiss, another year older…”

I am currently very much in two minds about this whole birthday thing.

A) I am very grateful to have managed to reach another birthday. 40 years ago I  guess I just assumed that I would reach 80-something.  After the fun of the teenage years,  and now as I get older, I’m grateful for every birthday I hit in relatively  good health. You know the saying… Seen it all, Done it all, Cant remember most of it!!  But I would generally say now I am not old,  I’m just youthfully challenged!

B) Another birthday means I am getting older.  And I already feel like a wrinkly old bag some days, especially next to the lovely young things* that you see walking around My god Tell me I never went out in skirts that short, Some of the girls you see now and the way they are dressed its scary….  or is that all part and parcel of getting old?!? .

C) I could freak out about the fact that I am getting Dangerously close to 50 but in my mind I still feel 21 or younger 😉 Funny really as I’m surrounded by younger people so I forget how old I really am 😆

  Now people say they are not wrinkles, they are experience lines, so oh boy I must be rapidly gaining experience in this game of life!  And I can tell what expressions mainly cross over my face from the patterns that are worn in.  And I’m not fishing for compliments either, cos when people tell me I am beautiful, I know they are fibbing or extrapolating the truth somewhat.  Now if they said I am not bad for an old chook, I would get huffy and say I’m better than not bad and I’m not *that* old, but I know where I sit in the beauty stakes.  And that is fairly and squarely in attractive enough, not pretty nor beautiful nor gorgeous, and for that matter, not plain nor fugly.

Speaking of beauty stakes, I have decided again to colour my hair.  I think I will have to go  proper red (not ginger you understand God No!! ).  Am sick of having red/purple hair with Gray highlights in it. 🙄  I   .  Apparently after spending most of my younger years colouring my hair blonde  Ok I was born with blonde hair but that soon changed,  I am meant to be bright, strange bold and either zonking red or purple.  Who knew? 😆

I Also made sure that TBO aka Allan  (for those who dont know TBO stands for “The Bald one” )

didn’t forget to give me a card this year, at least from the boys…  Last night I gave him the change and told him to go over the shop to get the cards 🙄  This is Allan you understand…
Funny thing is he went out this morning and then came rushing back in , grabbed the boys, got them to write in the cards, gave them to me and then rushed off out again…. 

No Presents, well not off Allan but in his defence we are going out for a meal on Thursday..  while My lovely friend and neighbour not only babysits the boys she is having them sleep over   (Such a Brave Woman) 😆  And she gave me a lovely box of choc’s and more importantly and will be put too much better use a box of my favourite white wine 😀

Loving Facebook as I do I was again honoured to have many lovely birthday messages, over 80 in all posted on my profile wall,  I really do have some great friends in my life
Although I have to confess I did feel disappointed 😦  that one or two who I thought were very special people to me,  one being someone I actually Live with… (Back to TBO)  didn’t bother to even post two words i.e. Happy Birthday on my wall  but you know what… life is too short to worry about it.. I know who my real friends are 🙂

and on that note of boring everyone with this waffling on  I leave you today with a link that was left on my wall by a good friend Kelly, It really made me laugh!! Click the picture to see if you get email alerts 🙂

 

Several Advantages of Getting Old
Kidnappers are not very interested in you.
In a hostage situation, you are likely to be released first.
No one expects you to run anywhere.
People call at 9 PM and ask, ‘Did I wake you?’
People no longer view you as a hypochondriac.
There is nothing left to learn the hard way.
Things you buy now won’t wear out.
You can eat supper at 4 PM.
You can live without sex (This is getting closer to the truth nowadays but that’s another blog ) but not your glasses.
You no longer think of speed limits as a challenge.
You sing along with elevator music.
Your eyes won’t get much worse.
Your joints are more accurate meteorologists than the national weather service.
Your secrets are safe with your friends because they can’t remember them either.
Your supply of brain cells is finally down to a manageable size.

Leave a Reply

