Christmas…………. Yes I said it outloud… I’m thinking Christmas Already!

No Seriously We are nearing the end of September and I’m starting to plan Christmas already.
Yes don’t laugh I know I’m the queen of procrastination but when it comes to Christmas, Easter and Halloween I seem to get organised early so I can sit back relax and watch everyone else panic… its great!! 

Well Decorations that is….

Mary has said she has a black tree in her loft that she don’t want any more so I’m thinking I rather like that idea…

This year I fancy a change..
The trouble is a black Christmas tree presents the equally unusual dilemma of how to decorate it.

To disprove the notion that you’ve gone completely off your rocker, I have never been a coloured lights fan but I’m now wondering if I go coloured lights and bright colours and go really garish or do I go slightly sophisticated… (If that’s all all possible when we are talking Christmas decorations ) and go for the Silver and white look.

 

Of course it will mean that I will have to buy all new decorations as I’ve not done the silver and white theme before at Christmas I’ve always stuck to the cream and gold but that is what I’m trying to get away from. I am not a decorations snob… I am more than happy to go to the 99p shops and £ shops to pick up the baubles etc.. ceiling dangly things, maybe even some tinsel this year , Even Asda’s and places like that do some great ones…

It’s like the front room window I would love to get the icicle type Christmas lights for the window so do I go white or blue? you see this is why these things need to be planned in advance…

I need to start picking bits up… Allan may be pleased because it would mean that he wont have to get any of the erm hundreds of decorations out of the loft lol  ( yes I have all sorts of colour themes up there) actually its just reminded me I do have some silver bits from when I had a purple and silver bauble decorated tree in my huge kitchen when I was in Faversham.

But sod it if I start picking up bits now I wont need the stuff out the loft… I’m not bothering with the wall 4ft half a tree this year as I don’t want to move the furniture..  I think I may even pick up new tree lights when I decide what I want…  Seriously its so much easier than trying to get stuff out of the loft…… The problem of being a christmas decoration hoarder is that we have boxes upon boxes of decorations up in the loft and I hate sorting through them all.  I did have a really good sort out a couple of years ago and got rid of the tat I would never use again lol
I think it will just be the tree in the corner a few bits on the shelf below the tv and of course ceiling bits

There you see that’s Christmas decorations planned already… Of course that all depends on my getting the black tree….  But then Last year I did see some funky red ones for sale in Wilkinsons …..

Right what does that leave to plan now….
I guess it all depends on how many we have for Christmas dinner…  The more the merrier usually:

Baking.
Well this year I’m only making a cake… I’m not bothering with puddings at all, or the Christmas Kransekake, I will make the ginger bread house as the kids love it…

Mince Pies are a must of course… sherry trifle etc.  
Food:
Last year we had beef, pork and turkey and the turkey went first so this year I think I will just get a small 9lb Turkey and a nice joint of Pork…
Usual Veg and roast pots , Boxing day will be the usual , leftovers and salad lol
Crackers I have up in my bedroom… Seriously I have two packs that I bought last year for the summer Christmas meal that was planned that never happened for Boo and in the end we never used them. I have wrapping paper upstairs as I got loads of rolls for 5p each at Asda’s lol yes I’m cheap when it comes to stuff like that… honestly why pay fortunes when its only going to be ripped off anyway.

Presents
Well I already have a present list in mind but that’s all I’m willing to say at the moment although yes again I’m prepared as I already have picked up some bits.
Allan’s main present is membership to Arsenal Football Club He’s wanted to be a full member for years…….  And its already taken care of..
Boys I have promised myself I am not going to go mad this year… Ali doesn’t do toys in fact he doesn’t do presents. I think he gets overwhelmed by the whole Christmas affair but he does do Tech so I’m thinking along those lines for the boys and maybe a personal dvd player each for in the car.. ive seen some cool ones that you can even run from usb flash drive or sd cards as well as dvd disc’s   great for car journeys, plus a couple of games they like.. and little stocking fillers I may think of along the way.
I’ve picked up some bits for Amber already and She keeps saying she wants a new laptop and has seen a nice red one she likes for £699… well one things for sure finances will not stretch that far but Im sure we will be able to sort something out for her.
Then there are the miscellaneous presents such as secret santa and a few other people I want to buy for… Sorry folks but due to lack of finances again these will be cheap and cheerful! but there will be a lot of thought put into them. I am keeping these kind of gifts to the under a Tenner price bracket.. well secret santa is £10 with postage.

So that’s Christmas just about organised.

Now that’s planned the next thing to plan which is before Christmas anyway is Halloween………..  Oh and Alex’s Birthday on the 21st of December… Now that is the hard one…………….

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

