Tried and tested method on how to get a 19yr old to tidy her bedroom

danger-messy-room-ahead

My stepdaughter has got to be the most minging person I have ever seen..  I don’t want to even say what I have found on her bedroom floor before but lets just say you know exactly what time of the month it is. 

she leaves clothes all over the place,  she does nothing in the house and I mean Nothing..  The string that broke the camels back was when she brought down a huge tall basket full of dirty washing the day after I had done everything of ours… having told her to bring it down a couple of days before hand… In this huge basket were clothes that had not even been worn from the last time I washed them… because she couldn’t be bothered to put them away…   so I washed them… and put them back in her basket for her to hang on the clothes airer she has in her room.. I am on economy mode at the moment and avoiding using the tumble dryer.. I have only used it three times since last July.   Anyway I went upstairs the other day and I could smell something musty so opened her bedroom door and there was the basket of damp clothes still she hadn’t hung anything up and it was really starting to smell now.  plus the mattress that we bought brand new when we got her bed was covered in make up… the room was a tip… I am not house proud by all means but her room was disgusting.
that’s it I have had enough.. I’m on my early spring clean at the moment..  so I had done the boy’s room, well I say done… bearing in mind all their electrical stuff like mp3 players, tablets, ds’s and games etc live downstairs.. I threw everything away except stuffed toys (only because this is the only thing that all really does) I filled up 5 huge black sacks full which are now on the front waiting for the next tip run.    we had to go out so I typed out a note to leave on Ambers door… as it goes just as I was going to put it up she walked in… I handed it to her… she went straight upstairs.. this was 2pm….. she finished at 11pm  room done, dirty sheets downs stairs.. (they had never been washed and she put them on the bed about July time)    what did the trick you ask… this is what worked.

 

TIDY ROOM PROPERLY GET RID OF ALL YOUR RUBBISH BOTH OFF FLOOR OR STUFF IN BAGS OR DRAWS.. RECYCLE PAPER BAGS AND CARDBOARD IN PLASTIC BAG IN KITCHEN.. THE REST CAN GO IN BLACK SACKS ON FRONT GARDEN WITH ALL THE BOYS TOYS…

PUT AWAY ALL CLOTHES PROPERLY EITHER HUNG UP OR FOLDED NEATLY IN WARDROBE AND DRAWS

ANYTHING JUST SHOVED IN WILL BE DEEMED RUBBISH AND PUT IN BLACK SACKS AND GO TO THE TIP.. (OH YES I WILL) BY THE WAY I HAVE GIVEN YOU A HELPING HAND BY EMPTYING THE WARDROBE FOR YOU TO MAKE A START…

BE WARNED IF YOU DON’T DO IT..

I WILL DO EXACTLY THE SAME AS I HAVE TO YOUR BROTHERS ROOM….. EMPTY IT OF EVERYTHING EXCEPT ELECTRICAL’S LIKE TV AND STEREO

CLEAN SHEETS ARE ON YOUR BED AND SO ARE EMPTY BLACK SACKS.

MAKE SURE YOU HAVE CLEANED THE MAKE UP OFF THE NEW MATTRESS BEFORE YOU MAKE THE BED..

ALL WASHING TO BE BROUGHT DOWNSTAIRS… PLEASE NOTE DO NOT BRING PREVIOUSLY WASHED CLOTHES DOWN BECAUSE YOU COULDN’T BE ARSED TO PUT THEM AWAY OR THEY WILL GO IN THE BIN..

YOU HAVE UNTIL 9AM TOMORROW MORNING (THAT’S SATURDAY 2ND FEBRUARY ) TO GET IT DONE OR YOU CAN GUESS WHAT I WILL BE SPENDING THE DAY DOING.

 

Leave a Reply

