Missed Moment: Once upon a time long ago!

Having an Autistic son Ali can sometimes be a good thing because all he does is sit at the computer most of the time or on his tablet or DS, basically anything tech, for the majority of the time.
Unless he is in meltdown mode…  Then you certainly know all about it.
My other son Alex is also tech mad and plays minecraft most of the time.
If they are not doing that they are playing with train sets or racing on the scalextric or arguing but there is never a time when I wonder what happened when because at the age of 7 ½ and nearly 10 we are always around.

So a Missed Moment In my house means what the dogs have been up to!
Or should I say dog really as Teal’c is usually quite good.
I came back in the other day after being out to find that one of the dogs had knocked the laundry pile over and there were socks everywhere…
Thankfully nothing was chewed up as Moo-bags aka Molly still has these pangs to chew something, last month it was a patch on the lino in the kitchen, why she did it is a mystery to me but as it already had a slight tear on it that happened when the fridge was moved a few years back it needed replacing anyway. One day I will get around to it.

But this got me thinking about all the damage that had been done by “innocent” dogs over the years.

Looking back now the funniest time was about 25 plus  years ago when I had two mutts, I say Mutts because I’m not sure what the parentage of them was but they had some staff traits.
Their names were Mina and Arnold, now I had owned Mina for a couple of years so she was totally out of the puppy stage and I had been lucky really when it came to chewing as it wasn’t something she ever did with the exception maybe of a few chew toys and rawhide.
She once swiped a MacDonald bag that I had just put down off the table that I had brought in for the kids and ran behind the sofa and as I shouted at her she ran out again leaving the bag there..

I  moved the sofa out and in that split second she had been behind there with it she had managed to not only open the bag, but opened a happy meal box and grabbed a cheeseburger unwrapped it and she had scoffed it as well.
But that was her only real sin so I can’t complain about her really.

Arnold was another matter.
I had taken Arnold on as a rescue, he really was the gentle giant very laid back and very loving But

even though he was about two years old if not older,  he was a pain for chewing things.  It was usually shoes he chewed or the legs of the dinning room table, but he hadn’t chewed anything for quite a while (about 6 months)  and I thought we had finally passed that chewing stage once and for all.

One day I was out in the front garden digging up daffodil bulbs out of the beds as I was planning on filling the garden with hardcore and putting a driveway on the front garden… I had been working out there for about half an hour when I saw the dogs watching me through the bay window..
Ahh I thought they had come in from the  back garden where I had left them and opened the kitchen door and then come in the front room,  but as they were just lying there  on the big bay window ledge watching I thought nothing of it and got on with the digging up of bulbs… About an hour later after working hard I just happened to look up again and noticed something fly up in the air..

Curious I stopped and watched and again something else flew in the air as well, it looked like lumps of foam.
Wondering what was going on I walked back into the house.

As I entered the front room I couldn’t believe my eyes…

The whole sofa was in shreds all over the place, all the foam stuffing was in tiny bits, It was and I emphasise WAS a brown velour sofa about three months old I might add and there was material, wood and foam everywhere.. and I mean everywhere..
I looked at the dogs and Mina looked at me and then looked at Arnold as if to say
“it wasn’t me it was him”.. I looked at Arnold and he was standing there wagging his tail.

He didn’t even have the decency to look guilty like some dogs do when they know they have done something they shouldn’t have but of course having a past history of chewing everything in sight he took all the blame that day and he certainly missed out on a few treats to say the least.

However thinking back I often wonder if Mina helped in the mass destruction of the sofa because there was a lot of mess for just one dog… A lot of mess, It was hard to find a spot on the carpet anywhere that wasn’t covered in foam.

Was she to join in the blame as well?
Maybe that is why he never looked as guilty as he should have!

One of my few regrets is I never actually saw the demolition take place, So yes I would call that a missed moment in time.

51V88QGB7NL

If you want to write about any missed moment, why not share it, Here is the challenge,
write your post and post your story about your “missed moment” on your blog.
If you have any pictures or videos to go along with it, that’s great! It’s not required though, so don’t worry if you don’t have any. ( As you can see I didn’t have any although I wish I had)
For more details follow this link

http://blog.dropcam.com/join-dropcams-lifes-mysteries-campaign/

Leave a Reply

