Flooding and Storms….

Last month we had some lovely hot weather but we also had some major storms…….
18th July we had a mega great thunder-storm.. you could see it rolling in

I took some pictures of the sky as the storm clouds were forming

garden pics

The boys and I sat in the garden watching even when the lightning started we sat and watched.. I had warned the boys that if I said get in that there was to be no questions just run the hell in……..  The lightening was getting closer and the clap of thunder was instant.. and we were sitting on metal chairs. if it got that close I  was going to call it a day

Now the worrying thing is the Art in the Park event was the next day… The weather forecast for Saturday the 19th was thunder storms and torrential rain……..   Not good……. but as it goes like I had said in the post about the event.. it rained in the morning while we were setting up and as the morning drew on and the even was about to start about 11am the sun started to shine… As it goes by the end of the day I was sunburnt……..
fast forward to Sunday..
A lovely day and we take the boys out to the spitfire museum and raf Manston museum ..   there had been some rain forecast but we hadn’t seen any, i was driving back and in the distance as im driving along the A2 having just passed through faversham and driving up the hill towards Teynham I could see the sky was black…..  I could actually see the rain falling from the sky in the distance……. And yes.. as we entered Teynham High Street it teamed it down.. by the time we got to the other end of the high street the roads were flooded..
This is what I was driving through
teynham

thankfully we have a landrover so getting through flooded roads is not a problem..
The roads in Sittingbourne were just as flooded..
high street

10609188_10204555817440416_1000517694_n

My Foot

996136_651499068279806_4703519848859532578_n
The floods went down within hours and you wouldn’t have known how bad it was if you hadn’t of seen it..
There have been a couple of houses struck by lightning in the last month..
Then again in August we have had more storms.. we had the tail end of Hurricane Bertha which was actually quite a squib but there have been other storms coming in.
here are some pictures that were posted on Facebook of the sky in Iwade…. (yes we had the same sky as its less than a mile from us)
10478123_10152600620359104_145683357838940448_n 10402466_10152657719437975_1632153568249120260_n 10481170_10152253406982475_1878898707899927900_n
And then there was just over a week ago..  It was a Thursday afternoon.14th August. 
I know that because I was taking my dad shopping in Asda and we were parked in the disabled space.
here is the news report if you are wondering whose foot it was posted on Facebook they mention … well it was mine lol  as here are some pics I had taken in the car park as I struggled to get not only the shopping in the car.. I had to take apart my dads scooter and get it in the car and then try to help him get in without him getting too wet. I got him home in his mondeo and then had to drive back in the land rover to find out that even Quinton Road where I live off was flooded.
asdf

http://www.kentonline.co.uk/sittingbourne/news/kent-back-on-flood-alert-21911/

Back of my dads car in disabled space

Back of my dads car in disabled space

Up to my ankles in water.. thankfully I had flip flops on that day.....

Up to my ankles in water.. thankfully I had flip flops on that day…..

 



I know that flash flood happen but three or four times in a month is way over average……. especially in areas that haven’t been flooded in over 40 or 50 years.

Now the thing is I have always said when they knocked down the pumping station with the mill that there would be problems as that is what used to use a lot of the water from the stream.. having lived in Periwinkle close I know all about the mill, flooding and streams……  we grew up with the history….. the tales of the flooding from the creek
are they going to admit that maybe they were wrong to knock down the old pumping station and water tower when they demolished the mill to build the new Morrisons .. who knows……. but I can bet this is not the end of the flooding…

Leave a Reply

