Ice Bucket Challenge….

Over the last week I have seen literally 100’s of ice bucket challenges posted on Facebook.

50% haven’t even got any ice in them…  and a good 10% dont even look like they are cold water judging from the reaction.

A lot of people who I know assumed that if you did the challenge you didn’t have to donate at all.

Wrong… if you are unsure of the rules… check them out.   http://www.mtv.com/news/1904680/ice-bucket-challenge-rules/

The other thing I have noticed is that there are various charities now getting in on the act.  Macmillan even giving a number to text to donate.

This is wrong in my opinion… This was not their idea……

Funny enough I was going to blog about this the other day and then when I came on and saw everything had gone to draft I was that busy catching up I forgot all about it
It was this post by a fellow blogger that reminded me…

http://www.raisiebay.com/2014/08/the-ice-bucket-challenge.html

 oh and by the way I strongly recommend you follow her blogs because she is great  http://www.raisiebay.com/  is one of the best blogs I have read , In fact this lady is so clever she actually writes more than one blog… Each and everyone interesting.

Anyway back to where I was I think Macmillan are wrong on this one… Now don’t get me wrong.. I do a lot for them..  I make cakes and hold a Macmillan coffee morning  to raise funds and awareness for them.. That is their thing..    if you want to take part here is a link..  Last year I raised over £320 for them by holding a coffee morning.

http://coffee.macmillan.org.uk/Home.aspx
It seems I’m not the only one who thinks like this.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/macmillan-cancer-accused-of-hijacking-the-ice-bucket-challenge-9688310.html

Well I have been nominated  … I did do it………..  (Honestly I really can’t post it as the person who recorded it on their phone then proceeded to drop their Iphone in the bucket of ice water ready for the next person, which I consider some kind of Karma because they were the one who had nominated me in the first place)  And I nominated…….   and the three people I nominated did the challenge……… and they nominated… and yep one person donated to macmillen and two of the others thought it was a get out of jail free card…     arrrggghhhh !!

And by the way I did give……  and no it wasnt to Macmillan
Both ALS, and in the UK, MND,  are sister organisations aiming to raise awareness of the neurodegenerative disease, known as Motor Neurone Disease in the UK,
and that is who I donated to.

936091_10201679878917773_984543285731922653_ne

 

Leave a Reply

