Things you forget to do when someone passes away.

When my dad passed away I was left with dealing with all the accounts,   closing bank accounts, dealing with the utilities, tax and council tax, all the usual stuff and thought I had covered everything. that was until the other day when I was in Sainsburys and used my nectar card.  

The lady at the till informed me that I had loads of points on my card, which I knew as we were saving them up. and I suddenly realised that I had used my dads card which I had in my purse as I was the one who always took him shopping and we used the same card all the time. Allan has a nectar account as well and I am an additional card holder on that so I had taken out the wrong card when I was in the shop.  
So I went online to customer services to let them know that he was deceased and explained that I had used his card by mistake and put points on it recently even though he passed in April.

The guy I spoke to was great.  asked me some security questions about my dads account which I knew and then said as I was next of kin that all points could be transferred over to my account, and my dad’s account would be closed.. he also said that there was an additional card holder on the account.  he  informed me that there was an additional card holder on the account and I realised that was my mums card who passed away over 11 years ago.

So now both cards are cancelled, the account closed and points accumulated will be transferred over to my account in 24 hours. 

So full credit to nectar for being so helpful.

Now I’m sitting here wondering what else I have forgotten to close……..

nectar_card

Leave a Reply

