I fooking hate time wasters.

The cheek of  some people. My dad had a mobility scooter, He bought it Feb 2014 and paid nearly £3000 at it was the top of the range of scooters, plus he paid an extra £250 for spare batteries and charger pack so you could charge up one set of batteries while using the scooter.   it was only used when we went around airshows or out for the day or in Asda’s if all their scooters were in use. It basically spent its life either in the boot of the car or in my dad’s flat parked up. Ironically it’s how I broke my foot tripping on the anti-trip wheels at the back when we were clearing his flat. Anyhow  I put this scooter up for sale and thought £400 was reasonable enough but to be honest after finding out the amount of damage I did to my foot and how long im going to be in the air cast and knowing I can’t walk that far we were in two minds whether or not to keep it, especially in the summer when we go to combined ops and are going to be walking around all day. Anyway, this woman had seen the advert and asked to  come and see it. We arranged for her to turn up about 11 am as she lived about an hour and a half drive away.We had been invited  to go to a BBQ in the afternoon about 2 pm as Allan was working in the evening and had to be there for 8pm We waited and waited and still no word from them. I did see that the main rd they had to use to get here was shut because of an accident so about 2pm contacted the people we were supposed to be going to for the bbq and told them we couldn’t make it because I would feel guilty if they had travelled all that way and been stuck in a traffic jam for nearly 2 hours and we were not in.  Eventually, they turned up and the first thing she said is what a terrible drive they had, had. which was understandable and that she was never coming to Kent ever again in a very stroppy voice. The proceeded to complain about the scratches on the back of the scooter.. well I had stated that they were there in the advert. in fact I had even posted pictures of the damage on the back in a larger picture . $_57 199545_1968136084836_6638389_n 11032506_10206453494201149_573788506_o

back view of scooter

back view of scooter

11160410_10206453490161048_1436108609_n   After complaining about the “state” of it, she then took it for a test drive……….. and complained about the lack of speed.. she wanted one that went about 8mph.  well if she had read the spec and I had posted it large so again it was easily readable She had already asked what the lowest I would take for it. when she first called me and then I had told her £380 plus I had others contact me offering me £350 which I had refused.  So she then asked Allan if he could fit it in her boot so her husband rode it over and Allan took it apart and showed them how to put it in the boot easily as there was a knack to make it take up the lease space.  then she said… “oh I wasn’t expecting it to fit” and then offered me £100 for it as that would be all she was willing to pay… at which point after standing out there  for nearly an hour while they were looking at it and test driving it etc with a broken foot that was beginning to hurt I’m afraid I lost my patience.. I just said to Allan. take it out of their car and put in back in the landrover.. you know what I will keep it….  the woman looked at me as if to say.. I thought you would take the money as it was already in the car…  Allan took it out.. put it back together and rode it down to the landrover.. took it apart and put it away.   She then said well that was a waste of fuel I think you should reimburse me if you are not willing to sell it and she was going to complain to the site I had advertised it on.  I refrained from telling her what I thought she should do but instead said,  if she was willing to pay the full price she could have it.. if not then it’s not for sale. I also informed her that no selling site going would listen to her complaint. but she could feel free and try.   At which point both Allan and I went indoors….   So we missed out on the BBQ as by then it was nearly 5pm and wouldn’t have been worth going anyway for a couple of hours. so a quick homemade pizza it was for dinner……  And now it’s glass of wine time.

Leave a Reply

