Thank fuck for the NHS!

I really should have written this Monday night but my head was still trying to get around the events of the day,  I have actually written down the whole time scale on a notepad because of the complaint we are putting in, and now I am going to write it down here so if I lose the pad I have it,

So Monday started like any other Monday, boys get up and ready for school, Ali has some muesli for breakfast, leaves the house at 8.20am to walk to school,
At 8.46am I get a call from the school asking if I have their permission for Ali to use his inhaler again as he has already had two puffs and is still bad, he had, a bad asthma attack walking to school, and could I get up there please asap.
So shout yes, of course, give him the inhaler let him use as much as he needs, and will be there in ten mins. I get to the school and am taken to the office straight away where Ali is sitting with his hands and feet in a bowl of water and a damp cloth on his forehead struggling to breathe.  they explain that he was almost at the school when one of the mums noticed he was struggling to breathe standing still and coughing so she helped him into the school.  I take one look at him and said I would take him to the local cottage hospital,  which is about five mins away and a minor injuries unit really but does have a nebuliser there as well and we have been on a few occasions and the waiting time is a lot less than the usual A & E main hospital about 17 miles away. so I get to our local cottage hospital and they take one look at him at reception and run off to get a wheelchair and get him to a room to be seen asap, Ali feels sick so being next to the disabled loo he goes in there and throws up,  The put him in the wheelchair and the receptionist runs him around to the nurse while I limp along behind. by the time I get to the room, he is on the nebuliser, they have taken his temp and he is tachycardic and covered in this rash from head to toe, the nurse calls 999 and asks for a paramedic asap,  it took them 3 and a half mins to get to the hospital, in the car, they look at Ali and give him an injection of  Epinephrine and a Hydrocortisone shot, and hook him up to what the guy joked and called his MOT tester, *12-lead electrocardiogram * He had a very weak pulse and rapid heart beat, once they had got him sorted they gave him another adrenalin shot, Epinephrine and called for an Ambulance to take him to A & E,  I’m sitting there and Ali is mumbling so they take off his mask and he in between trying to breathe asks if I can take his picture to show his friends.  this is normal for Ali, he loves his hospital pictures
lol  so they put the mask back on and I take his pic, the paramedic ask’s if I can take a picture of the rash as well so they can compare it to when he gets to the hospital to see if it is getting worse or not. so I take a picture of the rash, it is now 10.14am, they then load him into the ambulance while I get my car to follow them to the hospital,  they drive off with the sirens and lights flashing and I try to follow as close behind as I can, typically I get stuck behind loads of lights changing.  on my way to the hospital, I call my husband and explain what’s happening.  *yes I have a phone cradle and hands-free kit* and tell him not to worry about leaving work and I will phone him when I know more.  I get to the hospital and not one parking space so I have to queue up to get a space, by the time I get in to see him the paramedics are just taking off all the leads and I take another picture, by this time he doesn’t look as ill and I thought it would be a better picture than the one I took earlier because he looked like death in that one and I didn’t think it would be suitable for his show and tell at school, anyway the paramedic said he was a very lucky boy and that if I had decided to take him straight to A & E myself he may not have made it as he had Anaphylaxis which they say triggered his asthma given him the bad attack and caused the really high temp, vomiting, very weak pulse, rapid heart beat, rash etc, I said my thanks and they said their goodbye’s to Ali who was starting to feel a bit better by now.  his temp was back to normal, he was off the nebuliser although still feeling a bit sick, and the rash was going down, it wasn’t as red, so the hospital kept him under observation for three hours,  then a new doctor came in……. and this is what brings me to the putting in a complaint part,  This Dr was the rudest most obnoxious person going, she was asking Ali questions and he didn’t understand her accent (Indian??) and when he said he couldn’t understand she actually snapped and said don’t you speak English. At which point I lost it and said yes and better than you I also explained he is autistic doesn’t talk to people he doesn’t know and is finding the whole thing scary enough without her shouting at him, that’s when we got told if he is still the same in half an hour we can go home as no point in wasting their time doing any tests to see what has caused it as it could be anything, in fact, according to her he didn’t look ill at all and demanded to know why he had been brought to her A & E from another hospital, I explained it was just a cottage hospital and that was the paramedics decision, anyway she stormed out in a huff,  the nurses outside the door heard her, what she said and the tone she said it in and told me to put in a complaint, apparently this was not the first time she had treated patients like that.  it is now 3.30pm, he is discharged and we get home.  Ali goes straight to sleep and wakes up at about 7 pm, hungry and back to normal.
I have made a formal complaint, and also an appointment with our GP to discuss tests to see what caused this severe allergic reaction, as the paramedic had said the next time might be even worse.  the problem is we have no idea what triggered it in the first place.
Anyway the good news is so far he seem’s fine although I have been driving him to his sisters and he walks from there so he doesn’t have to walk through the grassed area in case it was something airborne, but there was also another reason for me doing the run as well, but that is a whole other blog post! 
PicMonkey Collage